Physician J-1 Visa Waivers - Conrad 30 State Contacts

You will find below a list of the various state contacts for the physician J-1 visa waivers through the Conrad 30/State 30 J-1 Visa Waiver Process. For questions regarding the waiver process for foreign doctor (IMGs/FMGs), please contact one of our Experienced Immigration Lawyers at

Asonye & Associates
Attorneys At Law
Chicago, Illinois
312 795-9110


Cheri Reaves-Tillery
Alabama Department of Public Health
Office of Primary Care & Rural Health
RSA Tower, Suite 710
Montgomery, AL 36104
Telephone: 334-206-5441
Fax: 334-206-5434
Email: CheriReaves-Tillery@adph.state.al.us

Website: www.adph.org/ruralhealth J1Visa Waiver: The Alabama Office of Primary Care and Rural Health website provides specific information on Alabama's State-30 and Appalachian Regional Commission J-1 visa waiver.

Nancy Barros
Alaska Department of Health & Social Services
Primary Care & Rural Health Unit
P.O. Box 110601
Juneau, AK 99811-0601
Tel: (907) 465-1491
E-Mail: Nancy_Barros@health.state.ak.us
Web Site: http://dhss.alaska.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Fabian Valle
Workforce Programs, Office of Health Systems Development (HSD)
AZ Dept. of Health Services (ADHS)
1740 W. Adams
Room 410
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Telephone: 602-542-1066/542-1219
Fax: 602-542-2011 (mark Attn: J-1 Visa Waiver)
Email: vallef@azdhs.gov
Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/hsd/workforce/j-1-waiver/index.htm 

Mary Fuller, Administrator
Arkansas Department of Health
J-1 Visa Waiver Program
5800 West 10th Street, Suite 400
Little Rock, AR 72204
Tel: (501) 661-2771
Fax: (501) 661-2165
E-Mail: mfuller@healthyarkansas.com
Randy Anderson
Tel: (501) 280-4912 or 4706
E-Mail: randerson@healthyarkansas.com
Web Site: www.healthyarkansas.com

Candi McCarthy Zizek
DH Care Services, Primary & Rural Health Division
1501 Capitol Avenue, Ste 71.6044, MS 8500
PO Box 997413
Sacramento, CA 94899-7413
Telephone: 916-449-5745 / 916-449-5770
Fax: 916-449-5777
Email: candi.Zizek@dhcs.ca.gov
J1 Visa Waiver Information: California accepts 30
applications per year for the J-1 Visa (Conrad 30 waiver)
program on a first come first served basis
starting October 1 of each year.

Cherith Chapman and Aaron Ortiz
Colorado Provider Recruitment Program
3033 S. Parker Rd., Ste. 606
Aurora, CO 80014
Telephone: 1-800-851-6782
Fax: (303) 832-7496
Email: cpr@coruralhealth.org

Marijane Mitchell
CT Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Avenue, MS# 11PSI
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308
Telephone: (860) 509-7658
Email: marijane.mitchell@ct.gov;
Physician Licensure Website:
Physician J1 Visa Waiver Website:

Joan Barnwell
Delaware Division of Public Health
Health Systems Management
655 S. Bay Road Suite 206
Dover, DE 19901
Telephone: 302-741-2960
Fax: 302-741-2970
Email: Joan.Barnwell@state.de.us

Tina Register
Georgia Department of Community Health
State Office of Rural Health
502 South 7th Street
Cordele, Georgia 31015
Telephone: 229-401-3076
Fax: 229-401-3077
Email: tregister@dch.ga.gov

R. Scott Daniels, Ph.D
Hawaii State Office of Rural Health
PO Box 1675
Honoka`a, HI 96727
Telephone: 808-775-8883
Fax: 808-775-8889
Email: scott.daniels@doh.hawaii.gov

Laura Rowen
Idaho Primary Care Office
450 W. State Street, 4th Floor
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0036
Telephone: (208) 334-5993
Fax: (208) 332-7262
Email: rowenl@dhw.idaho.gov

Bronwyn Jones-Leach
Illinois Department of Public Health
535 West Jefferson
Springfield, IL 62761
Telephone: 217-782-1624
Fax: 217-782-2547
Email: bronwyn.jones@illinois.gov
J-1 Visa Waiver Filing Instructions:
State of Illinois Department of
Public Health Website: http://www.idph.state.il.us/

J-1 Visa Waiver Program Director
Partner Relations
Indiana State Department of Health
2 N. Meridian Street, 8B
Indianapolis, IN 46204
J1 Visa Waiver-Indiana State Department of Health web site at http://www.in.gov/isdh;http://www.in.gov/isdh/publications/partner_rel/
J-1 Waiver Instructions:
Website: http://www.in.gov/isdh/publications/partner_rel/

Carl Kulczyk
Iowa Department of Public Health
Bureau of Health Care Access
321 E 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0075
Telephone: 515-281-7223
Fax: 515-242-6384
Email: ckulczyk@idph.state.ia.us

Barbara Gibson
Office of Local and Rural Health
1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 340
Topeka, KS 66612-1365
Phone: (785)296-1200
E-mail: bgibson@kdhe.state.ks.us
Website: www.kdhe.state.ks.us/olrh

John Hensley
Health Program Administrator
Kentucky Department of Public Health
Health Care Access Branch
275 East Main Street HS2GW-A
Frankfort, KY 40621
Tel: (502) 564-8966 x3773
Fax: (502) 564-8389
Email: john.hensley@mail.state.ky.us
Web Site: http://chfs.ky.gov/dph/info/dpqi/hcab.htm

Jeanne R. Haupt
Bureau of Primary Care and Rural Health
628 North 4th St.
PO Box 3118
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Telephone: (225) 342-3506
Fax: (225) 342-5839
Email: jhaupt@dhh.la.gov
J1 Visa Waiver Website: http://www.pcrh.dhh.louisiana.gov

Charles Dwyer
J-1 Visa Waiver Review
Office of Rural Health and Primary Care
Department of Human Services
#11 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0011
Tel: (207) 287-5503 or 5524
Fax: (207) 624-5431
Email: charles.dwyer@maine.gov
Web Site: ftp://ftp.state.me.us/pub/sos/cec/rcn/apa/10/144/144c513.doc

Elizabeth Vaidya
DHMH/ Office Health Policy and Planning
201 W. Preston St.
Room 423
Baltimore, MD 21201
Telephone: 410 767 5695
Fax: 410 333 7501
Email: evaidya@dhmh.state.md.us

Michelle Lovaas
Medical Opportunities of Michigan
2410 Woodlake Dr., Ste. 440
Okemos, MI 48864
Tel: (517) 347-3336 and (517) 347-4096
Toll Free: (800) 479-1666
Fax: (517) 347-4678
Email: mlovaas@mimom.org
Email 2: wightmant@michigan.gov
Website: www.mimom.org Minnesota
Lorry Colaizy
Office of Rural Health & Primary Care, MN Dept. of Health
PO Box 64975
St. Paul, MN 55164-0975
Telephone: 651-282-3851
Fax: 651-297-5808
Email: lawrence.colaizy@health.state.mn.us
J1 Visa Information Website:

Alvin Harrion
MS Department of Health
POB 1700
570 East Woodrow Wilson Blvd.
Jackson, MS 39215
Telephone: 601-576-7216
Fax: 601-576-7530
Email: aharrion@msdh.state.ms.us

Joyce Alexander
State of Missouri Dept of Health and Senior Services
P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Telephone: 800-891- 7415 or (573) 751-6219
Fax: (573) 522-8146
Email: joyce.alexander@dhss.mo.gov

John Schroeck
MT DPHHS - Primary Care Office
Diane Building 1218 E. 6th Ave
PO Box 202951
Helena, Montana 59601
Telephone: (406) 444-3574
Fax: (406) 444-2750
Email: jschroeck@mt.gov

Tom Rauner
Office of Rural Health & Primary Care
301 Centennial Mall South
P.O. Box 95026
Lincoln, NE 68509-5026
Telephone: 402- 471-0148
Fax: 402-471-0180
Email: thomas.rauner@dhhs.ne.gov

Douglas A. Schrauth
Nevada Primary Care Development Center
Email: dschrauth@health.nv.gov
J1 Visa Waiver Contact: Mary Baker Mackenzie
Nevada State Health Division
Primary Care Development Center 
email: mmackenzie@nvhd.state.nv.us

New Hampshire
Claire Hodgman
NH Recruitment Center Program
3 South Street
Concord, NH 03301
Telephone: 1-800-203-0234
Email: chodgman@bistatepca.org
J1 Visa Waiver Information Website: http://www.nhrc.org

New Jersey
Linda Anderson
New Jersey State Department
of Health and Senior Services
50 E. State Street
P.O. Box 364
Trenton, NJ 08625
Tel: (609) 292-1495
Fax: (609) 292-9288 and (609) 292-3580
E-Mail: linda.anderson@doh.state.nj.us
Web Site: www.state.nj.us/health/j-1/

New Mexico
Gabriel D. Chavez, Jr.
NM Department of Health
300 San Mateo NE
Suite 900
Albuquerque, NM 87108
Telephone: 505-841-5866
Fax: 505-841-5885
Email: gabriel.chavez1@state.nm.us

New York
Steve Swanson
New York State Department of Health
Tower Bldg Room 1084
Empire State Plaza
Albany NY 12237-0053
Telephone: (518) 473-7019
Fax: (518) 474-0572
Email: sas03@health.state.ny.us

North Carolina
Tom Tucker, Medical Placement Specialist
North Carolina Office of
Rural Health and Resource Development
311 Ashe Avenue
Raleigh, NC 27606
Tel: (919) 733-2040
Tel: (919) 715-7629 
To request application
Fax: (919) 733-8300
E-Mail: tomtucker@mindspring.com
Web Site: www.ncruralhealth.org/j1.html

North Dakota
Mary Amundson
North Dakota State Department of Health
P.O. Box 9037
Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037
Tel: (701) 777-4018
Fax: (701) 328-4727
E-Mail: mamundson@medicine.nodak.edu
Web Site: www.med.und.nodak.edu/depts/rural/rhw/j1/

Krista Sapp, M.P.H.
Ohio Department of Health
Primary Care and Rural Health
246 North High St. - 6th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Telephone: 614-466-1629
Email: Krista.sapp@odh.ohio.gov

Michael Brown, Director of Primary Care
Oklahoma Department of Health
Office of Primary Care
1000 NE 10th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299
Tel: (405) 271-8428
Fax: (405) 271-2886
E-Mail: mikebr@health.state.ok.us
Web Site: http://www.health.state.ok.us/

Dia Shuhart
Dept. of Human Services
800 NE Oregon St., Ste. 930
Portland, OR 97232
Telephone: 503-373-0364
Fax: 503-373-0313

Connie Hanna
PA Department of Health
7th & Forster Street, Room 1033
Health and Welfare Bldg
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Telephone: 717-772-5298
Fax: 717-705-6525
E-Mail: channa@state.pa.us
Web Site: webserver.health.state.pa.us/health/cwp/view.asp?a=169&q=204585

Rhode Island
John E. Wojcik
Division of Health Services Regulation
Health Professions
3 Capitol Hill, Room 205
Providence, RI 02908
Tel: (401) 222-3855
Fax: (401) 222-2158
E-Mail: JohnW@doh.state.ri.us
Robert Crausman
Tel: (401) 222-7888
E-Mail: RobertC@doh.state.ri.us
Web Site: http://www.health.state.ri.us/hsr/professions/visa/j1visa.php

South Carolina
Mark Jordan
South Carolina Office of Primary Care
Office of Primary Care
1751 Calhoun Street
Columbia, SC
Telephone: 803-898-0766
Fax: 803-898-0445
Email: JORDANMA@dhec.sc.gov
Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov/health/opc/j1.htm

South Dakota
Josie Petersen
Office of Rural Health
600 East Capital Avenue
Pierre,SD, 57501
Telephone: 1-800-738-2301
Fax: 605-773-5683
Email: josie.petersen@state.sd.us

Ann Cranford
Tennessee Office of Rural Health
425 5th Avenue, North
Cordell Hull Building, 6th Floor
Nashville, Tennessee 37243
Telephone: 615.741.2101
Fax: 615.253.2100
Email: ann.cranford@state.tn.us
Website: http://health.state.tn.us/rural/j1visa0.html

Clay Daniel
Texas Primary Care Office
1100 West 49th Street
Mail Code 1937
Austin Texas 78756
Telephone: (512) 458-7518
Fax: (512) 458-7658
Email: clay.daniel@dshs.state.tx.us
J1 Visa Waiver Website: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/chpr/j1info.shtm

Ms. Erin L. Olsen
Utah Department of Health
Office of Primary Care & Rural Health
PO Box 142005
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-2005
Telephone: (801) 538-6214
Fax: (801) 538-6387
Email: elolsen@utah.gov

Craig Stevens
Vermont Department of Health
Office of Rural Health and Primary Care
108 Cherry Street
PO Box 70
Burlington, VT 05402
Tel: (802) 863-7513
Fax: (802) 651-1634
Email: csteven@vdh.state.vt.us
Dawn Miller
Tel: (802) 951-5179
Denis Barton
Tel: (802) 951-4006

Health Workforce Incentives Coordinator
VDH Office of Minority Health and Public Health Policy
109 Govenor Street
Suite 1016 East
Richmond, VA 23219
Telephone: (804) 864-7436
Fax: (804) 864-7440
Email: ppova.recruitment@vdh.virginia.gov
J1 Visa Waiver Website: 

Jennell Prentice
Office of Community and Rural Health
PO Box 47834
Olympia, WA 98504-7834
Telephone: 360-236-2814
Fax: 360-664-9273
Email: jennell.prentice@doh.wa.gov
J-1 Visa Waiver Website: http://www.doh.wa.gov/hsqa/ocrh

West Virginia
Monique Mahone
West Virginia Department of Health
& Human Resources, Office of
Community Health Systems
350 Capitol Street Room 515
Charleston, West Virginia 25301
Telephone: 304-558-4382
Fax: 304-558-1437
Email: moniquemahone@wvdhhr.org

Joanne Herfel
Primary Care Consultant
Wisconsin Division of Public Health
P.O. Box 2659
1 West Wilson Street, Room 118
Madison WI 53701-2659
Tel: (608) 264-6528 or (608) 267-3263
Fax: (608) 261-6392
E-mail: herfejl@dhfs.state.wi.us
Web Site: http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/health/PrimaryCare/J-1Visa/


Doug Thiede
Wyoming Department of Health
Office of Rural Health
West Building Ste 510
6101 Yellowstone Road
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Tel: (307) 777-8651
Fax: (307) 777-8545
E-Mail: dthied@state.wy.us
Web Site: http://health.wyo.gov/default.aspx

Our experienced physician immigration attorneys have assisted physician recruiter, doctors, their families, employers and hospitals through the J-1 Visa Waiver Process for over a decade. Visit our Physician Information Center for general information about how foreign medical graduates (FMGs/IMGs) may obtain temporary and permanent visas to stay and work in the United States. Our Useful Web Links for physicians also provides important resources for visa applications. To contact one of our experienced immigration attorneys, use our Contact Us form or phone 312 795-9110.

Disclaimer: The materials in Asonye & Associates web site have been prepared to permit visitors to our web site to learn more about the services we offer. These materials do not, and are not intended to, constitute legal advice. Neither transmission nor receipt of such materials will create an attorney-client relationship between the sender and receiver. Internet subscribers and online readers are advised not to take or refrain from taking any action based upon materials in this web site without consulting legal counsel. We do not undertake to update any materials in our Web Site to reflect subsequent legal or other developments.